Total Pageviews

Vettaikaran Golden Jubilee

Golden Jubilee Padagotti

20 October 2012

Diamond Jubilee Of Tamil Nadu Assembly

Sri MGR Year 95, 20th October, Saturday

Tamil Nadu State Government is going to celebrate the Diamond Jubilee of Tamil Nadu Assembly 1952 to 2012. Tamil Nadu state has so far witnessed 14 General Elections from 1952. Below is the Chief Ministers who ruled from 1952 to 2012.




Name of the Chief Minister

1st 1952-1957 C.Rajagopalachari
2nd 1957-1962 K.Kamaraj
3rd 1962-1967 K.Kamaraj, M.Bakthavatchalam
4th 1967-1971 C.N.Annadurai, M.Karunanidhi
5th 1971-1976 M.Karunanidhi
6th 1977-1980 M.G.Ramachandran (MGR)
7th 1980-1984 M.G.Ramachandran (MGR)
8th 1984-1988 M.G.Ramachandran (MGR)
9th 1989-1991 M.Karunanidhi
10th 1991-1996 J.Jayalalitha
11th 1996-2001 M.Karunanidhi
12th 2001-2006 J.Jayalalitha
13th 2006- 2011 M.Karunanidhi
14th 2011- till date J.Jayalalitha


Times of India had published an article about the Diamond Jubilee giving snippets about 1952 to 2012.


MGR was elected as the Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu for the first time in 1977 for the 6th Tamil Nadu Assembly election. During 1980 when Indira Gandhi was elected as Prime Minister subsequently she dismissed MGR Government, again MGR came to power in 1980 General Elections with astounding majority a come back unparallel in Election History.


1980 Election is different story below is the historical speech of MGR during 1980 Election campaign.


With 273 thousand hits.




Below is the short accounts about our beloved Leader Puratchi Thalaivar MGR period i.e. 1977 to 1987 (1988 upto dissolving ADMK rule).




The above image is from MGR website, the Times of India has published the details with some minor errors.


6th Assembly : 1977 –1980

AIADMK came to power and MGR assumed office as CM. The government introduced 69% reservation for backward classes, MBCs, SCs and STs. Karunanidhi moved a no confidence motion against the government, but it was defeated. However, MGR government was dismissed when Indira Gandhi won the 1980 General Election, with DMK as ally.


7th Assembly : 1980 – 1984

DMK – Congress alliance couldn’t stop AIADMK from winning with a comfortable majority. MGR’s tenure saw rise of anti - Sri Lankan sentiment following riots against Tamils in the island nation. MGR expanded a pioneering mid-day meal scheme for students in this phase. Following Prime Minister Indira Gandhi’s assassination, the House was dissolved and elections were announced in which AIADMK aligned with Congress.


8th Assembly : 1984 – 1988

MGR fell ill and was flown to US for treatment. He fought the election from the hospital. V.R.Nedunchezhian was acting CM till MGR returned from the US and took oath. MGR died on December 24, 1987. His wife Janaki Ramachandran succeeded him to become the first woman CM of the state. Following a trust vote, the assembly was dissolved on January 30, 1988. During this period the India – Sri Lanka accord was signed and the Indian peace keeping force dispatched to monitor the peace accord.

M.G.R. Blog to you via E mail

M.G.R. Blog to you via E mail
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Follow by Email

All Time Popular Posts